Motherhood and friends

One of the most difficult things I’ve found since becoming a mom is having/maintaining friendships. When I first became a mom the majority of my friends without kids drifted away. I got closer with one of my friends who already had kids and had a new appreciation for the veteran mom friends and relatives I had (mom, mother in law, moms of my friends and relatives etc; also my mom’s mom-friends).  For a good while I didn’t really miss my friends. I was finding my way in my new mom world and spend a lot of time with family. 

When my son was about a year and half I went full time at my job and put him in a home based daycare. I was very hesitant at making mom friends, I didn’t have a lot of close girl friends to start with and finding good friends is difficult enough especially when you’re forced into friends because your kids are friends. Luckily the moms of the friends my son made turned out to be some of the most entertaining and warm women I’ve met. 

In addition to this change, my department at work grew in the next year from 3 to 7. In this process I gained 3 more fellow mom friends. They have proved invaluable during this second pregnancy. I’ve noticed more so in this pregnancy that I’ve become very nostalgic for my youth. I’m not very old by any means but I miss the times when I was free to go and do as I please and my monthly bills only totaled $300. It wasn’t that I had more friends or even really got together with people more often, but I could. It was much easier to do anything. I find myself missing the people I’d hung out with during that time. 

This is exacerbated my watching one of my oldest friends go have adventures and travel narrating his life on Snapchat. Granted, I know that he would love to be married and have kids. So would my cousin. What these two have in common is the pursuit of their dreams/careers. I’m not really doing that, but I also didn’t clear vision for a career. I wanted to be a get married and have kids. Which is exactly what I’m doing. They always say the grass is always greener on the other side.

It isn’t that the grass is greener, it’s that is seems lonelier. I want to be in on the adventures, the trips to the juice bar, the concerts, I want to be VIP. We haven’t been friends for 15 years for people to not know I’m important. I want to be in, I want to still be considered cool even though I spend a large majority of my time wiping tiny butts, doing the dishes and looking in general like a slob.

There was a time I would plan for a week how I would get ready for an event which would end up be an all out 4 hour process. But damn if I didn’t look fierce as hell. Now I’m lucky if I get an uninterrupted shower to shave my legs or 30 minutes without my son trying to play with all my makeup. I traded my heels for flip flops or vans, I also traded having on point makeup for an extra 30-40 minutes of sleep. 

I realized tonight as I played ball with my son that I traded being cool and going out to spend time playing barefoot in the backyard. Instead of dancing at concerts or a club I dance to the Charmers song when my son watches his show. I know he’s never going to be this age again and one day he won’t talk to me as much as he does now. While I absolutely chose my dreams and get a little nostalgic for the lives my friends live and the things that never were, I wouldn’t trade it for anything. Even if it means I really won’t be considered cool anymore.

3 thoughts on “Motherhood and friends

  1. Loved it! (May I suggest one of my favorite tools? Grammarly. Free version.) I love that you recognize that your son will never be this age again. That’s so important to know when they are small and there’s barely a moment’s peace. But they grow up and what you sow into them now (love, time and being present) they take into the world. You’re impacting the world.

    Like

  2. I’m one of those people who stayed single and did all that stuff while my friends were having kids like you.
    You chose correctly. Take it from the other side. Those fun times were blips when it all comes down to it. What you were doing is forever. Nothing we did was.
    We look at you now and marvel at you. You are awesome.

    Like

Leave a Reply

